Arch. Myriam B. Mahiques Curriculum Vitae

Friday, October 12, 2012

World Habitat Awards

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems. Every year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

How to Enter


Projects & approaches are sought that …
  • Demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries all around the world.
  • Can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate.
  • View the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, capacity building or education.
The World Habitat Awards (WHA) competition has a two-stage entry process:

Stage I submissions need only comprise a summary of the key aspects of the project. From these preliminary submissions, ten projects are selected by an Assessment Committee to go forward to Stage II of the competition.

Stage II submissions are evaluated by an independent advisory group before being put to a panel of international judges, which includes the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT) and the Rector of the United Nations University, Tokyo. Evaluation visits are carried out to some of the projects prior to the final judging.

PLEASE NOTE THAT: All Stage I submissions of the 2012 competition have been assessed and everyone who made a submission has been notified about the results.

If you would like to submit to Stage I of the WHA 2013 competition, your submissions must be received by 1st November 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails